You are currently viewing Yoga To Balance Your Sacral Chakra Bija Mantra and Asanas

Yoga To Balance Your Sacral Chakra Bija Mantra and Asanas

Our center of creativity, pleasure, self-expression, and our emotional body can be rebalanced and rejuvenated through using yoga for the sacral chakra. Enjoy these asanas and the bija mantra for the sacral chakra.

Yoga Is More Than A Workout

If you have gone to many yoga classes you may have already found out that yoga offers a deeper depth than just working out your body. Different teachers have their own style and some may transmit the message of classical yoga and teach you how to work with the subtle energy bodies.

Yoga is a holistic healing method which means it treats the person as a whole. It deeply cleanses the body, the mind, and the spirit. Working with the chakra system is a big part of getting the most out of your yoga practice.

The Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is the second chakra in the seven chakra system, it is located in the region just below the navel. The sacral chakra rules the womb, testes, bladder, bowels, and large intestine. It includes the hips, lower back, and pelvis. 

It is represented by the element water and the color orange. You can understand this chakra as our center of connection involving our sexuality, creativity, self-expression, emotional expression, and receptivity.

Just as any chakra the sacral chakra can become blocked by suppressed, unhealthy patterns, trauma, and any stagnation within its territory these practices will help you to clear blockages from your sacral chakra.

Yoga Asanas For The Sacral Chakra

If you are ready to move your body with a 30 min yoga practice then go ahead and follow along with the video below. Otherwise, you can use the listed asanas throughout the day to promote creativity, authentic self-expression, and compassion.

Asanas are the physical poses within yoga practice, this is where our movement practice comes in to heal and recalibrate the physical body. Here are some that work for the sacral chakra:

  • Utkata Konasana (Goddess) – place feet about one legs distance apart, rotate the toes away from each other so your feet come to an open position, bend your knees until your legs come to be about a 90-degree angle, use the outer hip muscles to pull the legs open, drop the tailbone down and lengthen through the spine, use inner thighs to push legs pack and open wide through the inner thighs

  • Supta Baddha Konasana (Reclining Butterfly) – laying down on your matt, bring the bottoms of your feet to together, knees relax onto each side, you can place both hands in the areas under your belly button to connect more deeply to the sacral chakra

  • Mandukasana (Frog) – come to tabletop position, open your knees and allow your body to sink down, keep thighs and calves at a 90 degree angle, keep feet flexed to protect the knee joint, come down to forearms, this position can be intense breath deeply

Bija Seed Mantra For Sacral Chakra

Mantras originated in Vedic Sanskrit within India. Mantra translated and broken down from Sanskrit is “man” meaning mind and “tra” which can be understood as to transfer or transport. Connecting these two translations, we can understand a mantra works as a conduit for higher wisdom and profound healing.

At Cleveland University, research shows that the melodic and rhythmic tones created when chanting form a soothing effect in the body called the Neuro-linguistic effect [NLE]. The release of healing chemicals in the brain is increased when we are intentionally attaching a meaning or understanding to the mantra.

Which is called the Psycholinguistic effect [PLE]. Each of the seven chakras has its own bija mantra that can link you directly to the energy of the chakra at its peak state. Meaning repeating these mantras can directly open, purify, nourish, and balance your chakras.

The sacral chakra’s bija mantra is Vam, pronounced am as you would the o in the word mom. You can chant this throughout your certain points within your yoga asana practice, during seated meditation, or when you want to bring more support to the sacral chakra.

More Resource To Care For Your Sacral Chakra

Leave a Reply