You are currently viewing What Are The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success? Lessons from Deepak Chopra

What Are The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success? Lessons from Deepak Chopra

An international bestseller by critically acclaimed author Deepak Chopra, The 7 Spiritual Laws of Success teaches us how to build a spiritual life in the modern world.

The book outlines seven core principles you can employ every day in order to live a more spiritual life. You can apply them to experience more fulfillment, harmony, and success, everyday. In this post we’ll take a closer look at each of these laws, and see how we can apply them to our daily lives.

Summary of The 7 Spiritual Laws of Success

The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success are:

  1. The Law of Pure Potentiality,
  2. The Law of Giving,
  3. The Law of Karma,
  4. The Law of Least Effort,
  5. The Law of Intention and Desire,
  6. The Law of Detachment, and
  7. The Law of Dharma.

The Law of Pure Potentiality

The first law Chopra offer is The Law of Pure Potentiality. This is one of the most basic and yet also one of the most mind-boggling of the seven laws.

It relies on an understanding that everything in life is interconnected and, in it’s purest form, is simply energy.

Since everything is energy, this energy can then be molded into any experience you choose. Thus, pure potentiality refers to this realm of infinite possibilities, before energy takes on the form we experience as day to day life.

You can tap into this energy simply by taking time to be silent and to check-in with yourself. Learn to meditate, and stop the incessant thinking the mind usually engages.

Witness the infinite intelligence, the pure potentiality, that exists everywhere around you.

The Law of Giving

The second principle is The Law of Giving. This idea encourages you to treat every moment as a gift, and relies on an understanding that giving expands the energy that is available to you.

The more you give, the more you have.

As you go through your day, give the gift of appreciation and love in any form that feels appropriate for you, whether it is a physical or monetary gift to a friend, loved one, or stranger, or simply the gift of a smile, positive energy, and affection.

When you give, you compound the love you feel, causing you to lead a happier and more fulfilling life.

The Law of Karma

The reason The Law of Giving is fundamental has to do with the third principle Chopra outlines: The Law of Karma.

Karma can best be understood as the idea that you get what you give. When you emit positivity and love into the world around you, you experience more positive energy.

Similar, when you are fearful or full of hate, you see only fear and hate, and will appear to be the victim of others’ malicious intent.

If you understand Karma, you recognize that every word and every action emits energy, which reinforces itself in the world around you. Choose, then, to emit only the energy of peace, joy, and love, and that will be your experience in the world.

The Law of Least Effort

The fourth idea Deepak Chopra provides in The 7 Spiritual Laws of Success is The Law of Least Effort.

This law is often difficult for people to accept, because we have a culture that bases ideas of success on hard work and effort.

Contrary to this popular belief, The Law of Least Effort tells us that there is a flow to everything in the universe. If we can accept things for what they are, we will find there is a profound reason and purpose to everything.

When we struggle against this flow, we create pain for ourselves. When we step back and allow the universal current of energy to guide us, life flows easily and effortlessly.

Resolve the energy first, and the right action will always follow.

The Law of Intention and Desire

The 5th principle, The Law of Intention and Desire, tells us that every desire you hold has inherent within it the ability to manifest in physical reality.

You cannot want something without also generating the ability to attain it.

This is a profound statement, and is easy for us to miss. For most people, we go through our lives desiring things that always seem just out of reach, because we do not trust in our own abilities to achieve them.

When you assume that your desire is always forthcoming, you set the intention to understand your own energy and circumstances in the most beneficial, positive light.

The Law of Detachment

The sixth law, The Law of Detachment, teaches us to step back from what our logical minds think should happen, in order to appreciate what already is.

When we try to force solutions, or demand that they take a specific form, we often miss the very joy and manifestation we seek.

Take the time to step back, and release the need for things to look the way your mind thinks they should. Cultivate surprise and delight as essential elements of your life, and be willing to embrace your desires in unexpected forms.

The Law of Dharma

Dharma is an ancient concept found in both Hindu and Buddhist texts. It refers to the fundamental lawsof the universe and underpins the idea of right action.

In The 7 Spiritual Laws, Chopra discusses The Law of Dharma in terms of reinforcing many of the other principles in the book.

The key point is to recognize that you are intimately connected to everything around you, and you receive the energy that you emit. You may choose to emit love or fear, joy or worry, and you will experience more of that energy.

In other words: to give is to get.

Quotes from The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success

“Witness the choices you make in every moment. The best way to prepare for any moment in the future is to be fully conscious in the present.” 

“The Ego, however, is not who you really are. The ego is your self-image; it is your social mask; it is the role you are playing. Your social mask thrives on approval. It wants control, and it is sustained by power, because it lives in fear.” 

“The past is history, the future is a mystery, and this moment is a gift. That is why this moment is called ‘the present’.” 

“At the moment you consciously make a choice, pay attention to your body and ask your body, “If I make this choice, what happens?” If your body sends a message of comfort, that’s the right choice. If your body sends a message of discomfort, then it’s not the appropriate choice.” 

“Attachment to money will always create insecurity no matter how much money you have in the bank.” 

“Completely desist from defending your point of view. When you have no point to defend, you do not allow the birth of an argument.” 

Kyle Greenfield

Kyle Greenfield is the Founder and CEO of The Joy Within, where our mission is to help you win the fight against stress and negativity by harnessing the power of your natural, inner joy. Kyle has been teaching on meditation, mindfulness, and how to eliminate negative thoughts since 2016. He currently resides in London. You can follow Kyle on Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube.

This Post Has One Comment

  1. Sunita S G

    Recently I came across your activity of ’21 days of Abundance’. It was nice experience. After getting benefitted by this movement can I suggest or request to make this activity in other Indian languages also. Multi linguistic form of this activity will definitely help large number of mass. Thnx for having such activity and hope to have more of such in future!!!

Leave a Reply