You are currently viewing The Heart Chakra Anahata Energy Center

The Heart Chakra Anahata Energy Center

Anahata, the heart chakra, the fourth chakra in the seven chakras energy system. Chakra is Sanskrit and translates as “wheel” or “circle”. This translation can begin to explain the way the chakra system works as a continuous stream of energy circulating throughout the body. Sometimes when we become stagnant in life or it is time to change the way we have previously been living, our chakras can become blocked with this stagnation.

An open heart chakra equates to finding compassion for others and an ability to forgive.

Characteristics Of An Underactive Heart Chakra

When the heart chakra is underactive one may find themselves feeling disassociated from the community, resistant to trust others and be more self-critical. Having a more pessimistic or bitter view of life is another symptom.

Someone may feel unsupported and a lack of empathy for others as well. Forgiveness and acceptance may be hard for someone with an underactive heart chakra to get in touch with. They may also feel alone and anxious to engage with others.

Giving and receiving unconditional love will come as more of a challenge to someone with an underactive heart chakra. Someone may find it difficult to get in touch with their feelings or communicating those to others.

Suppressed emotions and unprocessed feelings will also be stored in this chakra. With this chakra being the center of the higher and lower chakras, blockages here will directly impact the rest of the chakra system.

Activation Allies Of The Heart Chakra

When activating the heart chakra there are many tools you can use to open up your connection to this energy center. You can incorporate these elements into your daily habits such as listening to heart chakra music while sleeping, verbally expressing gratitude before eating or simply wearing the colors pink or green. Some basic heart chakra associated tools are presented below.

These activation tools can bring nourishment into the heart and release blockages from it.

More advanced heart chakra activation allies include yoga asanas or yoga poses, create their focus on the chest, back, intercostal, and arm muscles. These yoga poses work well when focusing on the breath in order to bring forth the air element of the heart chakra. Asanas to open and activate the heart chakra include Setu Bandha Sarvangasana (bridge pose), Urdhva Mukha Savasana (upward facing dog), Dhanurasana (bow pose).

Crystals For The Heart Chakra Activation

Healing crystals can be used during meditation, placed under a pillow while sleeping, or carried in your pocket throughout your day. The color of a crystal directly correlates to which chakra this is helping you to work with. The colors pink and green support the energy and balancing of the heart chakra. Some specific crystals to work with are:

  • Rhodonite
  • Rose Quartz
  • Jade
  • Prehnite
  • Pink Opal
  • Green Calcite
  • Pink Moonstone

When choosing a crystal to work with it is always important to use your intuition. One way to do this is to close your eyes and hold the crystal in your hand. Let go of any expectations and allow yourself to notice any subtle sensations arising while you are holding this crystal. Take note of the state of your mind as well.

If you are not able to hold the crystal before purchasing it, another way to feel which one may be the right fit for you is by imagining you’ve made the decision to purchase a specific crystal. Take note of how you feel after making this decision. Again, let go of trying to force a mental response. Allow your feelings to come naturally. Witness them subjectively. You may also decide to use this practice by comparing the results with two different crystals in order to feel the contrast on how you would work differently with each one.

Affirmations For The Heart Chakra

Speaking or listening to affirmations is a beautiful way to activate and open the heart chakra. When repetitively speaking affirmations your subconscious will listen and integrate them into its belief system. This can help you more easily reprogram your thoughts and create self-healing.

  • It is safe for me to trust others
  • I am deserving of love
  • I accept myself fully
  • I am open to love
  • It is safe for me to give and receive love
  • Love surrounds me
  • I live my life in alignment with my heart

Traits Of An Overactive Heart Chakra

When the heart chakra is overactive it can present itself as attachment, overflowing emotions, manipulative tendencies, and overbearing caretaking behavior.

Being ruled by the emotional body and finding it hard to let go of the past one can struggle to find a balance between emotion and logic. Oversharing and lacking boundaries can be another symptom of this imbalance.

While acceptance of others is important an over activated heart chakra may accept others to a point where they ignore their own needs in order to do so.  This includes codependency and rationalizing things that should not be tolerated. Giving too much to others to the point of self-neglect can point to an overactivation in the heart chakra.

Disconnection to the physical realm and rational thought processes can present itself in this imbalance. Fantasy like optimism and spiritual bypassing can manifest in addition.

Meditating on the heart chakra benefits all aspects of the chakra system.

Techniques To Balance The Heart Chakra

To find balance in the heart chakra one needs to have a balanced relationship to the spiritual world as well as the physical one.

This can be brought into effect by spending time meditating outdoors. Meditation can create a spiritual connection while being in nature offers the space to integrate it into the physical world. With the element of the heart chakra being air and the color green, nature is a potent tool to find balance within Anahata.

To circulate an excess amount of energy stored in the heart chakra one can spend time grounding and connecting to the physical body. Commonly this imbalance can be a withdraw into the spiritual plane and an aversion to integrating the celestial with the earthly realm.

Pranayama To Balance The Heart Chakra

Pranayama, a yogic term, means to control the breath and is used to direct the energy flow within one’s body. Exercises such as ujjayi pranayama, kapalabhati breath, and nadi shuddhi can benefit and heal the heart chakra. With the element air associated with the heart, focusing on the breath will circulate and balance it as well as the entire body.

Journal Prompts To Heal The Heart Chakra

This journal prompts offer you the ability to explore your unconscious. You may be able to discover blockages you have within your heart chakra, learn how to better support yourself, and maybe where you may want to change your approach to life. To begin this journey find or create a space where you feel comfortable and are able to think without being interrupted. Then let’s dive in.

  • What am I grateful for?
  • Do I find it easier to give or receive?
  • What is my relationship with empathy like?
  • In what ways could I show myself and others more love?
  • In what ways do I reject myself and others?
It is not only courageous to live with an open heart but also rewarding.

Heal All Seven Chakras

Through listening to our chakra system and what it is telling us, we have the potential to miraculously self-heal. It is a sacred system you are currently reading about and you can connect to each one of them through meditation music.

Further Reading

You can learn more about all the seven chakras here or individually dive into each chakra by clicking each one below.

This Post Has One Comment

  1. Renee

    Hi! This is an amazing resource! Thank you for providing it!

    Are there traits for a balanced heart chakra like you include in the rest of your descriptions?

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply