The 12 Spiritual Laws of the Universe Explained

The universe is operates according to a series of simple, interconnected laws. While many people have heard about The Law of Attraction, they may not realize that The Law of Attraction is only one of 12 universal laws, immutable spiritual principles that govern how the universe works.

In this post, we’ll go through what the 12 spiritual laws of the universe are, and how you can use a few simple ideas to live by them and apply them to your life.

What Are The 12 Immutable Universal Laws?

The Law of Divine Oneness

The first principle to understand is The Law of Oneness. This idea (known as non-dualism, or monism) is the fundamental principle behind almost every major religion and philosophy.

To put it simply: divine oneness means that everything in the universe is intimately interconnected. Everything is a part of a single, total field of energy. People describe this energy in terms of God or as a quantum field, but the principle is the same: you (and everything you experience) are part of the same, whole, complete system, and there is nothing apart from that energy.

The Law of Energy and Vibration

The next law is The Law of Vibration. This states that everything in the universe (both physical and non-physical) exists fundamentally as a state of energy. Your experience of the world is a representation of your specific frequency, or range of vibration.

Everything is an exact match to your vibration. As you shift your energy, your experience of the world changes, as you begin to experience events and circumstances present at your new level of consciousness.

Read more about how The Law of Vibration works.

The Law of Attraction

The Law of Attraction is one of the best-known of the universal laws. It is a law of corresponding energy, meaning that ‘like attracts like.’ It operates in conjunction with The Law of Vibration, and works to bring you situations and manifestations, according to the energy that you emit.

Read more about The Law of Attraction.

The Law of Correspondence

The next principle to understand is The Law of Correspondence. This is the concept that “As above, so below.” It means that you are created with universal energy and consciousness, and, as a part of that energy, have the ability to command and impress upon it.

Another way of thinking about this law is through patterns, repeated at different levels, like a fractal. On a macro-level, the distribution of the fractal creates a large, cohesive structure, while the pattern is then repeated at smaller and smaller levels, ad infinitum.

The Law of Perpetual Transmutation of Energy

This law is all about your ability to remain in a constant state of flow. Energy changes constantly, whether you are talking about shifts at the subatomic level, or subtle variations in your mood (your vibration) as you go about your day.

This law has many positive implications, because it means that you have the ability to transform your energy instantly, should you choose to do so.

Read more about how to change your vibration immediately.

The Law of Inspired Action

The Law of Action is an extension of The Law of Attraction, and a point that many beginning Law of Attraction students overlook. Your thoughts and feelings about those thoughts are only one part of the vibrational equation.

Equally important are the actions that you take. Your actions are always inspired by your current vibration. Even when you are in a bad mood, your action reflects your vibration. It just as much a reflection of your energy to sit on the couch eating ice cream as it would be to get up and make sales calls to try to boost your income. The action depends upon your mindset, your emotional willingness, excitement, and belief in the outcome you prefer.

The Law of Cause and Effect

You probably already know about The Law of Cause and Effect. Every action has an equal and opposite reaction. Every effect has a preceding cause.

However, most people think about this law in terms of purely physical actions, and don’t consider the energetic implications of cause and effect. When we talk about this in spiritual terms, it often invokes the idea of karma: every intention you have releases energy, which will eventually come back to you in like kind.

Read more about karma.

The Law of Compensation

Similar to The Law of Cause and Effect, The Law of Compensation states that you get what you give. If you give constant negativity, you will receive negative energy in return.

Many people assume that compensation has to do with money, but in fact it can come in many different forms. You have an energetic ‘set point’ for every aspect of your life, and you are constantly emitting and receiving life situations according to that energy.

The Law of Relativity

The Law of Relativity is a law of non-judgment. It states that everything that we experience is inherently neutral. When we judge things as good or bad, we restrict our ability to step back and view the experience from a neutral perspective.

To practice this, remember that your entire experience of the world is colored by your beliefs. Everyone acts according to his/her own experiences and beliefs, which means that you cannot judge another’s action because you can never have a full understanding of their history and motivations for speaking or acting in that way.

Read more about releasing resistance and practicing non-judgment.

The Law of Rhythm and Perpetual Motion

The Law of Rhythm reflects the fact that everything in nature – from your fluctuations in your mood to the cycles of the season to the ebb and flow of the tide and spirals of galaxies – occurs in cycles.

As you accept this fact, you open yourself to moving more in harmony with these cycles. You can begin to step back and see that there is a time for action and a time for inaction. You begin to accept more freely, and stop trying to force action when the time is not right.

Learn more about the meaning of surrender and acceptance.

The Law of Polarity

The Law of Polarity is what allows us to experience the world as we do. Even though the universe, at large, exists in a state of oneness (non-duality), our experience of the world is inherently dualistic.

We feel hot and cold, good and bad, North and South, and it is the experience of these opposites that allows us to appreciate life. You cannot ever enjoy any desire without having first known the absence of that desire. This contrast (though we often interpret it in negative terms) is a powerful tool we can use to appreciate every aspect of life more fully.

Learn more about why contrast and negative emotions are good.

The Law of Gender

Lastly, The Law of Gender is another experience of contrast. It refers to the two primary types of energy: masculine/feminine, active/passive, yin/yang, shiva/shakti.

As we evolve our individual levels of awareness, we can learn to balance these contrasting energetic states within us.

Try this Shiva-Shakti mantra to experience the dynamic of contrasting energy in your body.

Applying The 12 Universal Laws To Your Life

Now that you understand what the 12 spiritual laws of the universe are, it’s time to start applying them to your life.

Working with these laws is a gradual process. It takes practice and experience to live in accordance with them consistently, and mastering them can be a lifelong process for anyone.

Obviously, that’s way too much to cover in one post, so you can read this post to explore simple spiritual practices and learn more how to apply these ideas.

We also have a complete workshop that helps you to work with The Law of Attraction and manifest the life that you want. You can check out the workshop here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.